Brad – Farming!

I have begun cultivating with the farming collective in Kuwdé. This experience is one I looked forward to throughout our spring independent study. First, because I hoped to try my hand at tough fieldwork and see if I could keep up with the Kabiye men; pleasantly, the men, including my home stay brother, agree I haven’t done half bad. Second, I looked forward to this experience because it offers an intimate view of the line between the communal and individual work culture of the Kabiye. In this community group micro finance products have historically failed, a puzzling fact considering men work together collectively in the fields. As I begin my project with anacardium (a tree that yields an income-generating seed that can be converted to biofuel), I will consider why group projects have failed in the past and how to go about my affairs in an efficient but historically cautious manner.

Leave a Reply

